European countries in their official native languages

Soccer Football - Euro 2024 - Group B - Albania v Spain - Dusseldorf Arena, Dusseldorf, Germany - June 24, 2024 Albania fans pose with a flag outside the stadium before the match REUTERS/Piroschka Van De Wouw

Countries around the world are known by neutral names today, but this wasn't always the case.

Many countries have native names that changed due to history, culture, and pronunciation. For example, Japan's name comes from a Portuguese version of "Nippon," the Japanese name for the country. China's name has roots in Persian history. "China" comes from the Sanskrit "Cina," derived from the Chinese Qin Dynasty, which the Persians translated as "Cin." This name became popular through trade along the Silk Road. Some countries adopted simpler global names because they were easier to pronounce than their original names.

Here are a few European countries with native names that vary

Spain is called España, pronounced as eh·spae·nyuh in Spanish

Germany is called Deutschland, pronounced as doych·lant in German

Greece is called Elláda, pronounced as eˈlaða in Greek

Croatia is known as Hrvatska, pronounced as haa·vat·skuh in Croatian

Finland is Suomi, pronounced as soo·ow·mee in Finnish

Austria is known as Österreich, pronounced as øːstəʁaɪç in German

Hungary is known as Magyarország, pronounced as mˈadʒjɐɹˌɔːszaɡ in Hungarian

Albania is known as Shqipëria, pronounced as ʃcipəˈɾi in Albanian

Montenegro is known as Crna Gora, pronounced as t͡sr̩̂ːnaː ɡǒra in Montenegrin

Slovakia is known as Slovensko, pronounced slovɛnsko in Slovak

Georgia is known as Salartvelo, pronounced sakʰartʰvelo in Georgian

Ireland is known as Éire, pronounced Ay-ra in Irish

Luxembourg is known as Lëtzebuerg lə.t͡sə.buəɕ in Luxembourgish

Cyprus is known as Kipros/Kıbrıs in Greek and Turkish which are both official languages of the country.

You may be interested in